55 

Gregory J. Ettl, , ettl@uw.edu (Presenter)
Sandor Toth, , toths@uw.edu
Sergey Rabotyagov, University of Washington, rabotyag@u.washington.edu
Luke Rogers, University of Washington, lwrogers@u.washington.edu
Nora Konnyu, University of Washington, nk6@uw.edu
Jeff Comnick, University of Washington, jcomnick@uw.edu
Paul Fischer, University of Washington, pwfischer11@gmail.com
Kevin Ceder, University of Washington, thuja@uw.edu
Aaron Wirsing, University of Washington, wirsinga@uw.edu

 

Forestland provides multiple ecosystem services with intensive extraction of wood products potentially diminishing the provision of those services. We use the 4300 ac University of Washington’s Pack Forest to describe the application of an auction-based mechanism to monetize ecosystem services associated with forest management plans of varying intensity. The USDA Forest Vegetation Simulator was used to model stand-level forest growth response for a 30-year planning horizon with different silvicultural treatments, each potentially implemented at 5-year intervals. Multi-criteria optimization modeling was used to determine the net present value, C sequestration, and additional acres of mature forest habitat provided by competing harvest scenarios. Post-optimization Bayesian belief network habitat models were also used to assess the probability of suitable habitat for several guilds of species. An auction process for Pack Forest, near Eatonville, WA using model outputs and the online ECOSEL platform to monetize the ecosystem services produced for various amounts of foregone revenue will be described. A real auction is being prepared where a management plan services will be implemented if bids exceed an associated reserve price.