64 

Christopher Jones, University of Arizona Gila County Cooperative Extension, ckjones@cals.arizona.edu (Presenter)
Janean Creighton, Oregon State University/USDA PNW Research Station, Janean.Creighton@oregonstate.edu
Michael Crimmins, University of Arizona Dept of Soil, Water and Environmental Science, crimmins@cals.arizona.edu
Amy Grotta, Oregon State University Columbia County Extension, Amy.Grotta@oregonstate.edu
William Hubbard, University of Georgia , whubbard@uga.edu
Eric Norland, USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture, enorland@nifa.usda.gov
Eli Sagor, University of Minnesota Extension, esagor@umn.edu
Christopher Schnepf, University of Idaho Kootenai County Office, cschnepf@uidaho.edu
Eric Taylor, Texas AgriLife Extension Service, eltaylor@tamu.edu

 

A major outcome of the 2011 SAF-sponsored National Climate and Forest Workshop held in Flagstaff, Arizona is the founding of the Climate Science Initiative under the auspices of the Association of Natural Resources Extension Professionals (ANREP). Its purposes include: 1) expanding a system-wide capacity to respond to clientele needs for science-based resource management decision-making as pertaining to climate, climate change, and climate variability; 2) providing professional development opportunities for members and non-members; 3) creating and disseminating science-based educational materials; and 4) creating new and expanding existing partnerships with organizations and agencies with a common mission and areas of expertise. This presentation will highlight: 1) the eXtension Climate, Forests and Woodlands Community of Practice (an online educational resource); 2) climate workshops and webinars for natural resource managers and extension educators; 3) climate change surveys and focus groups including forestland owners and other extension clientele; and 4 ) the Pine Integrated Network: Education, Mitigation, and Adaptation Project (PINEMAP), an Agriculture and Food Research Initiative regional Coordinated Agriculture Project. The Association of Natural Resources Extension Professionals was established in 1996 as a professional organization for Extension educators working in forestry and other fields of renewable natural resources. ANREP provides unique opportunities for members to expand upon their individual areas of expertise.