201 

Donald Hodges, University of Tennessee, dhodges2@utk.edu
Chris Woodall, USDA Forest Service, cwoodall@fs.fed.us
Peter Ince, , pince@fs.fed.us
Charles E. Keegan, Bureau of Business and Economic Research, charles.keegan@business.umt.edu
Colin Sorenson, The University of Montana Bureau of Business and Economic Research, colin.sorenson@business.umt.edu
Kenneth Skog, , kskog@fs.fed.us
Brad Smith, U.S. Forest Service, bsmith12@fs.fed.us (Presenter)
Francisco Aguilar, University of Missouri, aguilarf@missouri.edu

 

The US forest products industry experienced a downturn in output during the late 2000s to levels not seen in decades and employment losses in the hundreds of thousands. The extent of the forest industry downturn varied by sector, impacted by structural changes in the overall economy coupled with substantial impacts from the recession. Globalization of manufacturing and expanded use of electronic communication media contributed to a decline in US pulp, paper, and paperboard output since the late 1990s, while the collapse of housing construction since 2006 and off-shoring of furniture production contributed to declines in US wood product output. This presentation highlights some structural changes that may be difficult to reverse, but also to some potential prospects for future growth.